Possible Stand-In Skippers of IPL 2019

Indian Premium League (IPL) 2019 is going to kickstart 0n 23 March. It will be the 12th edition of the most elite franchise league. Cricket fans always love its extravaganza. You are in for some nail-biting finishes. It’s going to be a roller coaster ride. There are 8 teams and importantly 8 skippers chasing the cup.

Chennai Super Kings will be looking to win the tournament for the fourth time, with Mahendra Singh Dhoni at its helm. Captain Cool has taken CSK to the finals seven times in nine opportunities. Being a wicketkeeper and skipper, he sets precise fields. He takes the game as deep as only he can.

Delhi Capitals is chasing their maiden tournament victory in IPL 2019. The captaincy has landed in the hands of young talent, Shreyas Iyer. He isn’t as experienced as the other skippers. With young guns such as Prithvi Shaw and Rishabh Pant, his game plan is expected to be aggressive.

Ravichandran Ashwin will be captaining Kings XI Punjab. He’s aggressive as a spin bowler personally. With limited captaincy experience of just 1 year, he will try to bring in the X factor. With Gayle in red hot form in international cricket, it’s time the offspinner goes for the trophy.

Dinesh Karthick will resume his captaincy duties for Kolkata King Riders. KKR has been champions twice before, though not under him. Karthick will be trying to make an impression with captaincy and performance before team selection for the World Cup.

The only current skipper other than MSD to have taken the team to trophy is Rohit Sharma. He’s in race for most runs in the tournament. When he gets going, he got no weakness. He is equally a prolific IPL skipper.

Ajinkya Rahane replaced Steven Smith as Rajasthan Royals’ skipper during last season. It’s highly unlikely for Smith to return to captaincy in 2019. In his absence, Rahane ensured the double R’s qualified for the business end of the tournament last season.

Virat Kohli will be chasing for the first title win in IPL 12. RCB never winning a trophy in 11 years makes for an interesting case. King Kohli will invariably be high beat about winning the title this year. The Indian skipper is the most aggressive of the lot. He has almost scored 1000 runs in single season in 2016.

Kane Williamson will captain Sunrisers Hyderabad. Though criticized as being a liability, the Kiwi captain is sure to make his mark this time. He will be filling in the Warner sized boots. In Martin Guptill and Shakib Al Hassan, he will have all the support he needs.Watch IPL 2019 live via YuppTV in Australia, Singapore, Malaysia, Europe, South America and South East Asia. Check out IPL 2019 live score here